Teri Yaad by Ankur Tewari

 

 

It begins with Ankur Tiwari announcing on stage:

“This song is about whisky, cigarettes and lovers.”

You kinda like it already, don’t you? The vibessss.

But.

That’s not where I heard it for the first time.
A lot of people find this song.. plain? Boring? Every-guitar-guy’s type?

But I like it for very simple reasons:

  1. This was the second song that I dreamt of shooting a music video of way before I thought I was capable of picking up a camera and shooting anything. (I’ll soon reveal my first. It’s a national favourite so not so surprising.)
  2. I first heard him perform a part in a wedding video by the The Wedding Filmer and it blended beautifully with the surroundings and the couple. His music sounded apt. That’s where I first thought it was beautiful.
  3. Wait. There is more than meets the eye with me always. And so the real reason I really like this song is this:

It’s simple. It’s raw. And it’s true. 

Raat ek kisse mein hue tha zikr tera, baaton hi baaton mein phir ho gaya savera.

Chai ki phir pi garam garam payali, cigaretton ke dhue mein guzri thi raat saari, udaasi wo..

Teri yaad mein.. Ek aur shaam guzre.. Teri yaad mein.. Ek aur jaam guzre.

It’s no Urdu shayari of the highest order, but it’s true and that’s what makes it beautiful for me. And every time this guy plucks the guitar strings, he plucks some of my heart’s too.

 

Lyrics:

Raat ek kisse mein hua tha zikr tera
Baaton hi baaton mein
Phir ho gaya savera
Ik udaasi si..
Ho rahi kahin.

Shor-gul dhue mein
Guzar gaya din saara
Raat ko jo lauta ghar
Thaka thaka sa haara
Udaasi wo..
Wo na gayi.

*whistles*

Chai ki phir pi
Garam garam payali
Cigaretton ke dhue mein
Guzri thi raat saari
Udaasi wo..
Wo na gayi.

Teri yaad
Mein
Ek aur shaam guzre
Teri yaad
Mein
Ek aur raat guzre

*whistles*

Ek aur shaam
Ek aur raat bani savera
Ek aur kisse mein
Hua tha zikr tera
Udaasi wo..
Wo na gayi.

Teri yaad
Mein
Ek aur shaam guzre
Teri yaad
Mein
Ek aur jaam guzre

Teri yaad
Mein
Ek aur shaam guzre
Teri yaad
Mein
Ek aur jaam guzre

*whistles away*

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

