Maaeri

This was my number one song. Still is.

Maaeri is truly an anthem in our country. I guess it’s because every time we either sing this song or hear it on the radio or just watch a bunch of kids playing antakshari come up with this beautiful song, it takes us right back to our favourite memory of it.

Maybe it was in a bus, or a school choir, or a car, or on stage.. Maaeri reminds us of some feeling that we can’t label but it feels all nice and warm.. which smells like home.

That’s it. Because this song? This song smells like home.

And that’s why some of us will never forget it.

 

PS. Maaeri is a song written by an awesome band called Euphoria about a boy telling his mother about his heartbreak. Yes. A lot of us will never see it like that and that’s okay. We’ll let it be whatever it is for each one of us. Because it’s breathtaking anyway, no?

 

 

Teriyaan meriyaan bhul gaya
Bhul gaya haar-te-jeet
Hey maaye ki karna main jeet nu
Hove na je meet?

I’ve forgotten about you and me
I’ve forgotten about winning and losing
Oh ma, what will I do even if I win
If I don’t have my soulmate?
Hove na je meet..

If I don’t have my soulmate..

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 2.14.43 am

Bindiya lagati toh kaanpti thi palkein
Maaeri..
Chunniyaan sajaake wo deti waade kal ke
Maaeri..
Mere haathon mein tha uska haath
Thi chaashni si har uski baat

When she wore the bindi to her forehead, her eyelids would quiver
She would drape a chunni (and pretend to be a bride) and make vows for our future
Oh ma
Her hands were in mine
Everything she said was just so sweet

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 2.25.14 am
Maaeri
Aap hi hasdi
Maaeri
Aap hi rondi
Maaeri yaad wo
Yaad wo
Aaye ri

Ma, she would laugh by herself
She would even cry on her own
Ma, I miss her
I miss her so

Gallan-o kardi 
Maaeri akhaan naal larhdi
Maaeri yaad wo
Yaad wo
Aaye ri

She would talk
And fight with her eyes
Ma, I miss her
I miss her so

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 2.12.36 am

 

Hey, Maaeri.. 

Baarishon mein lipatke ma
Aati thi wo chalke maaeri
Deriyaan ho jaye toh
Roti halke halke maaeri

Drenched in the rains, ma
She would come to me
And if I was ever late
She would cry softly

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 2.17.55 am

 

Phirse main roun
Phir wo gaaye
Thandi havaayein
Banke chhaye

Maybe if I cry again
She would sing again
Maybe like a cool breeze
She’ll flow somewhere around me

Maaeri heera-o-gaandi
Maaeri giddean-o-paundi
Maaeri yaad wo
Yaad wo
Aaye ri

Ma, she would sing songs of Heer
She would dance
Ma, I miss her
I miss her so

 

Jannatan langdi
Maaeri mannata mangdi
Maaeri yaad wo
Yaad wo 
Aaye ri

She was my heaven
She was my only wish
Ma, I miss her
I miss her so

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 2.18.40 am

Hey, Maaeri..

Ab kya karun?
Ka se kahun?
Ae maaeri

What do I do now?
Who can I tell this to?
Ae ma

Ab kya karun?
Ka se kahun?
Ae maaeri

What do I do now?
Who can I tell this to?
Ae ma

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 2.19.41 am

 

Duniya paraayi
Chhodke aaja
Jhoothe saare naate
Todke aaja
Sau rab di tujhe
Ik vaari aaja
Ab ke mile toh
Honge na juda
Na juda
Na juda.. 

You don’t belong there
Leave that world and come to me
All these false relations

Break them
For God’s sake
Just come once
And if we meet this once
We’ll never part
We’ll never part..

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 2.20.41 am

Hun te 0 aaye
Koi teh le aaye
Maaeri yaad wo
Yaad wo
Aaye ri

At least now she should come
Someone go and get her

Ma, I miss her
I miss her so

 

Gallan-o-kardi
Maaeri akkhan naal larhdi
Maaeri yaad wo
Yaad wo
Aaye ri

She would talk
And fight with her eyes
Ma, I miss her
I miss her so

Pul gayi mera pyaar
Maae bus lage mahine chaar
Maaeri yaad wo
Yaad wo
Aaye ri

She forgot me, my love
All it took was just four months

But Ma, I miss her
I miss her so

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 2.24.07 am

 

Yaad wo aayi
Maaeri yaad wo aayi
Maaeri yaad wo
Yaad wo
Aaye ri..

I miss her
Ma,
I still miss her so
I miss her
I miss her so..

Ab kya karun?
Ka se kahun?
Ae Maaeri

What do I do now?
Who can I tell this to?
Ae Ma

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 2.22.39 am

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 2.23.13 am

 
Ab kya karun?
Ka se kahun?
Ae Maaeri..

What do I do now?
Who can I tell this to?
Ae Ma.. 

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 2.23.32 am

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

