Tere Bin

True and true. Tere bin. For me it’s an eternal, “Bro. You mean the world (almost) to me” song for me.

Rabbi is kinda magical. And such beautiful words. What I find really fascinating are the following lines:

“Koi mangda mera si sama
Koi honda surat te fida
Koi mangda meri si wafa
Na koi mangda meriyaan bala

Tere bin hor na kise
Mangni meriyaan bala
Tere bin hor na kise
Karni dhoop vich chhaa”

This is just out there, right? This is what the song means to me in a few words:

“Hey. Look. I am a little screwed. I have my demons. And you’re the only one who can live with them, you know. So let’s. Let’s live? Together.”

 

M.A.G.I.C.  much:

Tere bin sahnu sohniya
Koi hor naiyo labhna
Jo deve ruh nu sukoon
Ne chukke jo nakhra mera

Besides you, my lover
I don’t want anyone else
Someone who’ll bring peace to my soul
And indulge me

 

Ve main saare ghum ke vekhiya
Amreeca, Roos, Malaysia
Na kithe bhi koi fark si
Har jise di koi shart si

I’ve roamed around and seen
In places like America, Russia and Malaysia
There is no difference
Everywhere people have conditions

Koi mangda mera si sama
Koi honda surat te fida
Koi mangda meri si wafa
Na koi mangda meriyaan bala

Some asked for my time
Some were in love with my face
Some demanded my fidelity
But no one wanted my demons

 

Tere bin hor na kise
Mangni meriyaan bala
Tere bin hor na kise
Karni dhoop vich chhaa

Besides you
No one asked for my demons
Beside you
No one will be my shade under the sun

 

Tere bin sanu sohniya
Koi hor naiyo labhna
Jo deve ruh nu sukoon
Ne chukke jo nakhra mera

Besides you, my lover
I don’t want anyone else
Someone who’ll bring peace to my soul
And indulge me

 

Jivein rukiya si tu zara
Nahio bhulna main saari umar
Jivein akhian si akhaan chura
Rovega sanu yaad kar

That time when you paused for a while
I won’t forget that for the rest of my life
You told me when you looked away
“You shall weep in my memory”

Hassiya si main hassa ajeeb
Par tu nahi si hasiya
Dil vich tere jo raaz si
Mainu tu kyun ni dasiya?

Back then, I awkwardly laughed
But you didn’t
Whatever was the secret in your heart
Why didn’t you ever tell me?

 

Tere bin sahnu eh raaz
Kisi hor naiyo dasana
Tere bin peerh da ilaaj
Kis vaid kohlon labhna?

Besides you
I won’t tell my secrets to anyone
Besides you
No druid can fix my pain

 

Tere bin sanu sohniya
Koi hor naiyo labhna
Jo deve ruh nu sukoon
Ne chukke jo nakhra mera

Besides you, my lover
I don’t want anyone else
Someone who’ll bring peace to my soul
And indulge me

 

Milia si aaj mainu tera ik patra
Likhiya si jis’te nu sher Varis Shah da
Padhke si uhsnu hanju ik duliya
Akhiyaan’ch band si
Aye raaz aaj khuliya

I found a letter of yours today
You had written a couplet of Varis Shah’s in it
I couldn’t help but shed a tear when I read it
The secret that was locked in my eyes
Was finally revealed today..

Ki tere bin aye mere hanju
Kise hor naiyo chumna
Ki tere bin aye mere hanju
Mitti vich rulnha

That besides you, these tears of mine
Won’t be kissed by anyone else
That without you, these tears of mine
Will wither in the dust

 

Tere bin sanu sohniya
Koi hor naiyo labhna
Jo deve ruh nu sukoon
Ne chukke jo nakhra mera

Besides you, my lover
I don’t want anyone else
Someone who’ll bring peace to my soul
And indulge me

6 thoughts on “Tere Bin

  1. Another lovely post Prachi ! Even though I have hear this song many times, today I have learnt to appreciate it even more. Wonderful translation, great post, Cheers 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

