Main Tainu Fir Milaangi

Amrita Pritam. A name that I feel like I’ve known forever. Today being her birthday, I can’t help but contain my happiness that we were fortunate to have had someone like her amongst us.

And I am even more fortunate that of all the things I could have been doing in life at the time when I came across her name the first time, I paying attention to her. The way she draws me into her writing, her thoughts, her life, it never ever stops to amaze me.

 

amrita

 

She reminds me of me. What I am or will be like, hopefully. A lady of love. With the overpowering belief that the world will change if only we loved each other. And said that to each other more often.

If only we loved. It’s as simple and as difficult as that.

Here’s to Amrita Pritam, a poetess whose heart feels like it beats within mine.

Main Tainu Fir Milaangi.

The first time I heard this poem was in Hindi. And then I came across this beautiful recitation by Gulzar. They were friends, Amrita and Gulzar. But their stories are for a post for another time.

 

 

Here’s my attempt at the translation for her beautiful poem:

Main Tainu Fir Milaangi

Main tainu fir milaangi
Kithe? Kis trah? Pata nahi
Shayad tere takhiyl di chinag banke
Tere canvas te utraangi
Ya khore teri canvas dey utte
Ik rahasmayi lakeer banke
Khamosh tainu takdi rawangi
Main tainu fir milaangi

I will meet you yet again
How and where? I don’t know that.
Perhaps I could be a
figment of your imagination
Or maybe I will draw myself

As a mysterious line that shouldn’t be
On your canvas
Quietly, I will stare at you
And I will meet you again.

 

Jaa khore suraj di lau banke
Tere ranga vich ghulangi
Jaa ranga diyan bahwa vich baithke
Tere canvas nu wlangi
Pata nahi kish trah-kithe
Par tainu zarur milangi.

Perhaps I will become a ray of sunshine,
And revel in your colours

Or maybe I will paint me on your canvas
I know not how or where
but I will surely meet you.

 

Jaa khore ik chashma bani howangi
Te jivan jharneya da paani udd da
Main pani diyan bunda
Tere pinde te malangi
Te ik thandak jahi banke
Teri chhaati de naal lagaangi
Main hor kuch nahi jaandi
Par ena jaandiyan
Ki waqt jo vi karega
Ae janam mere naal turega

Maybe I will become a spring
And the water that sprouts from it
I’ll rub its droplets on your body
I’ll become the coolness from it

That rests on your burning chest
I don’t know anything else
But I know this much
That no matter what time does
This life will walk along with me.


Ae jism mukkda hai
Tan sab kuch mukk janda-e
Par cheteyan dey dhaage
Kaayenaati kana dey hunde
Main unha kana nu chunagi
Dhageyan nu walangi
Te tainu fir milaangi

This body? It perishes.
Everything does.
But the threads of memory
Are woven such
That the universe resides in its every bead
I will pick those tiny beads
I will weave the threads
And then.. I will meet you again.

amrita imroz

Amrita and Imroz.

Leave a Reply

