Naam Gum Jayega

I think the most difficult things we have to say are also the simplest. If only we find the right words.

And the right mind.
Or heart.
And. We. Run. With. It.

What happens when we don’t? What happens when you don’t do either of those things?

Poetry is born.

Naam Gum Jayega, written by Gulzar sahab and sung by the beautiful Lata Mangeshkar.
And it’s her birthday today! 😀 So cool.
Music is R.D. Burman’s and from the film Kinara.

Just listen?

 

 

Naam gum jayega
Chehra ye badal jayga
Meri aawaz hi pehchaan hai
‘Gar yaad rahe..

My name will fade away
My face will also change
My voice is thus, my only identity
If
You remember it..

Waqt ke sitam  kam haseen nahi
Aaj hain yahaan kal kahin nahi
Waqt se pare agar mil gaye kahin
Meri aawaz hi pehchaan hai
‘Gar yaad rahe..

The hardships time makes us go through
Aren’t any less charming

Today they’re here
Tomorrow they aren’t
And if we meet sometime
Beyond these realms of time
My voice will be my only identity
Should you remember..

Jo guzar gayi, kal ki baat thi
Umr toh nahi, ek raat thi
Raat ka sira, agar phir mile kahin
Meri aawaz hi pehchaan hai
‘Gar yaad rahe

You and I? We’re the past now
It wasn’t a lifetime, and only a night
If you ever find a strand of that one night again
Remember, you can find me from my voice
My only identity

Din dhale jahaan, raat pass ho
Zindagi ki lau, unchi kar chalo
Yaad aaye ‘gar kabhi, jee udaas ho
Meri aawaz hi pehchaan hai
‘Gar yaad rahe..

When the day fades away
And night’s about to fall
Raise the wick of life
Just a bit highter
Whenever you find yourself missing me
And you feel let down
My voice is how you’ll find me
If you remember..

Naam gum jayega
Chehra ye badal jayga
Meri aawaz hi pehchaan hai
‘Gar yaad rahe..

lata_youth

 

Devnagari script:

नाम गम जाएगा
चेहरा ये बदल जाएगा
मेरी आवाज़ ही पहचान है
‘गर याद रहे..

वक़्त के सितम काम हसीं नहीं
आज हैं यहां कल कहीं नहीं
वक़्त के परे अगर मिल गए कहीं
मेरी आवाज़ ही पहचान है
‘गर याद रहे..

जो गुज़र गयी, कल की बात थी
उम्र तो नहीं, एक रात थी
रात का सिरा, अगर फिर मिले कहीं
मेरी आवाज़ ही पहचान है
‘गर याद रहे..

दिन ढले जहाँ, रात पास हो
ज़िन्दगी की लौ, ऊँची कर चलो
याद आए ‘गर कभी, जी उदास हो
मेरी आवाज़ ही पहचान है
‘गर याद रहे..

नाम गम जाएगा
चेहरा ये बदल जाएगा
मेरी आवाज़ ही पहचान है
‘गर याद रहे..

Leave a Reply

