Aankh Uthi Mohabbat Ne Angdai Li

Qawalli is magical chaos. 

Every time I listen to one, I get confused.

Confused.

How do they manage to engulf you? Each time?

Be it the lyrics or the music or the sheer power in the voice that fills your chest with some sort of warmth and the need to lose yourself.

nusrat

Qawallis are it.

They’re warm. And rich. And so, so powerful.

I sound foolish, don’t I?

Well. At 4.54 in the song, you’ll know.

Another gem. Nusrat sahab.

Thank you, Avankita for introducing me to this one.

Here’s to you 🙂

Aankh Uthi Mohabbat Ne Angdai Li

 

Aankh uthi mohabbat ne angdai li
Dil ka sauda hua chandni raat mein

We looked at each other, and love lazily stretched itself
A deal was made, of hearts, in the glistening moonlight one night

 

Unki nazron ne kuch aisa jaadu kiya
Lutt gaye hum toh pehli mulaqaat mein

Her eyes wove a magic like no other
And I was hers the very first time we met

 

Hosh bhi apne bhool gaye, imaan bhi apna bhool gaye
Dil hi nahi, iss bazm mein hum na jaane kya kya bhool gaye
(bazm: mehfil)

I lost all consciousness, I forgot all my beliefs
It wasn’t my heart alone, I lost a lot of other things 

 

Jo baat unko kehni thi
Wo baat hi kehna bhool gaye
Gairon ke fasaane yaad rahe
Hum apna fasaana bhool gaye

The one thing I wanted to tell my love
I forgot to tell her that
I remembered romances that others kept telling me 
But I forgot, I forgot my very own

 

Aisa jaadoo kiya unki nazron ne
Jadoo kiya unki nazron ne
Humpe aisa jaadu kiya unki nazron ne

Such was the magic she wove with her eyes
Her eyes did it
Her eyes enchanted me like no one else’s

 

Aankh uthi mohabbat ne angdai li
Dil ka sauda hua chandni raat mein

One look and love was awoken between us
We made a deal of hearts, under the moonlight that night

 

Devnagri:

आँख उठी मोहब्बत ने अंगड़ाई ली
दिल का सौदा हुआ चांदनी रात में

उनकी नज़रों ने कुछ ऐसा जादू किया
लुट गए हम तो पहली मुलाक़ात में

होश भी अपने भूल गए, ईमान भी अपना भूल गया
दिल ही नहीं, इस बज़्म में हम न जाने क्या क्या भूल गए

जो बात उनको कहनी थी
वो बात ही कहना भूल गए
गैरों के फ़साने याद रहे
हम अपना फ़साना भूल गए

ऐसा जादू किया उनकी नज़रों ने
जादू किया उनकी नज़रों ने
हमपे ऐसा जादू किया उनकी नज़रों ने

आँख उठी मोहब्बत ने अंगड़ाई ली
दिल का सौदा हुआ चांदनी रात में

Leave a Reply

