Sanu Ik Pal Chaen Na Aave

I know nothing. Nothing. 

Imagine being on a boat. A boat that has no oars. A boat riding on waters that are still.

Imagine a sun. A sun that lights up everything it touches. In a sky that’s spotless.

Imagine a body on that boat, under that sun. Imagine that it has no ties to anything in this world.

It has no sorrows, and it has no pain. It has never felt heartache and never suffered a loss. There’s little that it knows of darkness and creatures in the shadows. Of the ghosts beneath the bed. It doesn’t understand why dreamcatchers were born, what is fearsome and what is death. It knows no evil and cannot define sin.

Imagine a body bereft of all the above things.

What does it know after all- if not the bad, the evil, and suffering?

How will it ever know what happiness can do to you, the things that love can change? Of the power of believing in times so hard you think you will break, and of a touch of kindness?

The day I fell in love, I became a person.

That day, that body morphed into a being. Living, laughing, shouting, loving, and a very, very foolish human.

I fell in love not when I gave my heart to someone the very first time.

I fell in love the second I realised life’s worth living. In a million different ways. For a zillion different reasons.

a42808abbc7319f23c77e32c7b1dced0

Madness is good. Madness keeps you sane.

Madness keeps me sane.

Here’s an all time favourite- for love and other things-Sanu Ik Pal Chaen Na Aave by Nusrat Sahab.

Here’s to you, Abhishek. 🙂

 

Sanu Ik Pal Chaen Na Aave

Sanu ik pal chaen na aave
Sanu ik pal chaen na aave
Sajna tere bina
Sajna tere bina

There isn’t a moment
That I’m at peace, my love

Without you
Without you, my love

Dil kamla dub dub jaave
Dil kamla dub dub jaave
Sajna tere bina

Sajna tere bina

My heart’s going crazy 
My heart’s sinking further
Without you, my love
Without you

Khuda dushman kisse nu vi
Hijr da rog na laave
Zamaana marda taaney
Judaai jaan pai khaawe

I pray to God that not even my enemies, no
Should bear this pain of separation
It’s like the world is taunting me
As separation engulfs my life

Sanu ik pal chaen na aave
Sanu ik pal chaen na aave
Sajna tere bina
Sajna tere bina

Beqadre naal preetaan laake
Aeho pujhdi hoon
Sunjhya raahvan takdiyan rehna
Kaliyaan baihke roun

I fell in love with an insensitive one
And I worship him such
So much
That I stare
At
The empty paths around me
I sit alone, and wait
And cry

Sanu ik pal chaen na aave
Sanu ik pal chaen na aave
Sajna tere bina
Sajna tere bina

Beparwaai aadat teri
O rudia jaan rakhiyaan
Suthray bhaag na jaage mere
Son na dendiyaan akhiyaan

To not care is a habit of yours, love
Mine? Wherever I’ve 
My fate’s sealed, fast asleep
And my eyes? They don’t let me

Sanu ik pal chaen na aave
Sanu ik pal chaen na aave
Sajna tere bina
Sajna tere bina

Tan vi pyaasa
Mann vi pyaasa
Tainu kol bulawaan
Tu aave te jaan na dewaan
Jaave te mar jaawan..

My body’s longing for yours
My soul’s longing too
I wish I could call you here
And if you were to come, I would never let you go
If you do, love.. I’d die

Sanu ik pal chaen na aave
Sanu ik pal chaen na aave
Sajna tere bina
Sajna tere bina

Dil kamla dub dub jaave
Dil kamla dub dub jaave
Sajna tere bina
Sajna tere bina

Sanu ik pal chaen na aave
Sanu ik pal chaen na aave
Sajna tere bina
Sajna tere bina

nusrat_fateh_ali_khan_03_1987_royal_albert_hall

 

Devnagri:

सानु इक पल चैन न आवे
सजना तेरे बिना
सजना तेरे बिना

दिल कमला डुब डुब जावे
दिल कमला डुब डुब जावे
सजना तेरे बिना
सजना तेरे बिना

खुदा दुश्मन किसे ने वि
हिज्र डा रोग न लावे
ज़माना मारदा ताने
जुदाई जान पाई खावे

सानु इक पल चैन न आवे
सानु इक पल चैन न आवे
सजना तेरे बिना
सजना तेरे बिना

बेक़द्रे नाल प्रीतां लाके
एहो पूझदी हूँ
सुंझ्या राहवां तक्दियाँ रहना
कलियाँ बैके रोऊँ

सानु इक पल चैन न आवे
सानु इक पल चैन न आवे
सजना तेरे बिना
सजना तेरे बिना

बेपरवाई आदत तेरी
ऐ रूजियां जान राखियां
सुथरे भाग न जागे मेरे
सोंड़ न देन्दियाँ अखियां

सानु इक पल चैन न आवे
सानु इक पल चैन न आवे
सजना तेरे बिना
सजना तेरे बिना

तन वि प्यासा
मन वि प्यासा
तैनू कोल बुलावां
तू आवे ते जान न देवां
जावे ते मर जावां..

2 thoughts on “Sanu Ik Pal Chaen Na Aave

  1. To say the unsayable, to feel what cannot be felt, to explore the un-explorable, to live beyond the ordinary …I think that it is ..very well articulated….someone said something beautiful…”Love each other or Perish”…. only caveat …falling in love is good ..staying in it is great..so stay in love..cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

