Yariyaan

As the new year unfolds, I couldn’t help but look back on how much the relationships I’ve had over the last few years have shaped who I am. People have walked into my life, without a warning, and changed it. For better, mostly.

I’ve learnt so much in 2016.

Twenty sixteen. The year of many, many highs. And a lot of lows too.

MBA got done. I worked hard on my first project, my baby, at FMS (Life at FMS, the intra-network). I got a good job from campus (something I wanted). THIS BLOG HAPPENED. I got a chance to spend two months with an awesome, learned, human being on a secret project (lol) which resulted in a published book. I did my first poetry open-mic (it was bad, and I had friends to witness it, which was awesome). I left home, for real. (First time). First salary. First first salary gifts. Chotu learnt how to talk (aren’t babies the bestest thing). Moti (my pet stray dog) turned three. I wrote to people. A lot of them. Emails/letters/Facebook messages. I fell in love with words and photography again. I also found my calling. I half-read my first Murakami. Experienced Calcutta and kept a cat-count of the city for two months. I bought more books in the name of retail therapy than I had in the last few years combined. I gave a lot of presents (others’ happiness= my happiness logic, yes?). I’ve seen friends grow and be awesome. I’ve watched them break down too and learnt from them when they got back up and fought the goddamn world. 

ALSO, I WATCHED DR. WHO. WHICH IS AWESOME. AND THE BEST-EST THING OF 2016.

All of this, kind of, makes me want to cry. And laugh. And hug everyone. And hit myself in the face with some bricks, I think. But most of all, I’m learning to live with myself.

It’s so important to have people around you to share it all with, yes?

It’s true- happiness, if not shared, means nothing.
And sadness? If not talked about can harm you in so many ways.

Twenty sixteen. It gave me humans- to love, and to hate, both. Sometimes, to love/hate them at the same time.

PS. Dr. Who taught me something I didn’t expect to learn from a fantasy show. Look beyond. Humans are a fascinating species.

 

12801107_10153313099177791_2205704184589592375_n

For all my humans, Yariyaan. A collaboration between Noori, a wonderful Pakistani rock band (known to have revolutionised the pop music scene in Pak) and Hari and Sukhmani, from India. Isn’t this song perfect? Two beautiful countries, collaborating. All in love, and for their love- music.

A huge shoutout to Aishwarya Mehra for introducing me to this song! Totally loved working on it. Discovered quite a few things (see see!). I hope you enjoy this post 🙂

WELCOME, 2017.

 

Yariyaan

Sadday nibhavan
Sajan banaavan.. Yariyaan

Those, who are truly ours
Always stand by us
We make them our own, our companions
Those are friends

Lakkhan di roti
Akkhan de moti.. Vaariyan

For them
We can give away all our riches

They’re the apple of our eyes, our friends
And for them, we’d give it all up

Karam hatta-de
Karam nibhavan.. Aiyaan
Hatta-di mehndi, laavan
Mithdi yariyaan

All those things we’ve done
And all those things we’re destined to do (Karma).. We’ve come for those
The henna on my hands.. The hymns being sung (in this wedding) in praise of the Lord
And the sweetness of friendship.. (So fulfilling)

(Laavan: Discover what is the hidden meaning behind this tiny word in Punjabi. Read more below)

 

Laage akhiyaan
Bas tore angna
Jiya more rang na
Ke yaar aaya hai

My eyes are set upon your courtyard
(I wait for your return, always)
Sweet heart, immerse me in all the joys of the world
My beloved’s arrived!

Laayi batiyaan
Jaage ratiyaan, ae yariyaan
Peer bane
Sajan mile.. Yariyaan
Ajj bhaag banavan de
Dil yaar sajaavan de
Sajan rang de!

Endless conversations
Throughout the night, that’s what these friendships are

They become our own
They become our loved ones.. these friendships.
Let me build a brighter tomorrow
Let me rejoice my heart out
Come on, friend, immerse me with such happiness!

Yaar tu rang de
Jindadi jaan ke sadke
Laage na koi rog
Jis raah tu langde
Har dukh harjai
Ke yaar aaya hai 
Har dukh harjai
Ke yaar aaya hai

Love, ruin me
For every bit of life I’ve got, it’s yours

Nothing evil can come my way
If only you’re by my side
Every sadness has turned its back on itself
Now that you’re coming
Every bit of pain has betrayed its own self
Now that you’re coming, love

Laayi batiyaan
Jaage ratiyaan, ae yariyaan
Peer bane
Sajan mile.. Yariyaan
Ajj bhaag banavan de
Dil yaar sajaavan de
Sajan rang de!

Never-ending conversations
Till the break of dawn- that’s what great friendships are like
Some great human beings
Some great companions.. Such is friendship.
Let me chalk out my brightest fortunes
Let my heart beat wildly for this
Friend, let’s rejoice!

Aena yariyaan de sadke
Panja peeran nu chhadke
Assa la leyiyaan tere naal
Ae yariyaan

(Panja Peeran: Discover what is the hidden meaning behind this tiny word in Punjabi. Read more below)

For friendships like these, I can sacrifice
I’ve even left behind my faith in the Five Great Saints
Such is the bond I share with you
My friends

Badlan zamaane
Badlan ae fasaane
Par na badlan.. Na marjan
Ae yariyaan..

It doesn’t matter if the world changes
Or the stories that we tell each other
But this? This will never change.. Nor die
Our friendship never will.

Laage akhiyaan
Bas tore angna
Jiya more rang na
Ke yaar aaya hai!

I’ve been looking out for you for so long
Sweet heart, let me immerse myself in this happiness
My friend is here!

Laayi batiyaan
Jaage ratiyaan, ae yariyaan
Peer bane
Sajan mile.. Yariyaan
Ajj bhaag banavan de
Dil yaar sajaavan de
Sajan rang de!

 

Hidden meanings in very simple words in this beautiful song!

LAAVAN:

Source: http://sikhism.about.com/od/sikhweddinghymns/a/Lavan.htm

The four hymns of Laav are performed during the four nuptial rounds of the Sikh wedding ceremony. Each of the four Laav has a special significance and describes the marriage of the soul-bride to the divine husband. The hymns outline the progressive stages of the awakening soul-bride as she advances spiritually to ultimately blend with the divine groom in the dawning realization of her divine destiny.
The Lavan hymns are compositions of Guru Raam Das, and were written for the occasion of his own wedding to Bibi Bhani. They are meant to fuse the soul of bride and groom into one conscious being who is subsequently wedded to God in spiritual union.
The verses of the Lavan are from the scripture of Guru Granth Sahib.)

 

PANJ PEER:

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panj_peer

Panj Peer (or Panj Pir), the Five Great Saints, mentioned in South Asian (Punjabi) literature[1] are as follows:

These are mentioned in the great love-epic of the Sufi poet Sayyid Waris ShahHeer Ranjha“, which opens with an invocation to these holy sages.

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

